WorldWiideWeb – A Wii homebrew web browser

So, I’m starting to develop Wii homebrew, and I felt that one thing the Wii lacks is an easy way to download homebrew that isn’t on the Homebrew Browser. I decided that the best solution for this would be to make a web browser. I had also wanted to make an RSS reader, so I will be including that as well. I decided upon the painfully creative name “WorldWiideWeb” because it seemed somewhat appropriate. I apologize for the name, but it was the best I could come up with.

To date, I have made a simple app that downloads a specified file. Now, I’m going to focus on the presentation aspect, and I’ve decided that I might as well make a general-purpose library type thing for Wii homebrew application GUIs, which easily allows the developer to make windows and such. Unfortunately, I’m now away from my Wii on weekdays so I’ll have to learn SDL/C++ to make some mockups of the windowing system. But hopefully, this should end up being very useful for the Wii homebrew community. I don’t expect anything useful to be completed before summer, though.

6 Responses to “WorldWiideWeb – A Wii homebrew web browser”


  1. 1 Hugh Isaacs II January 26, 2009 at 3:58 am

    lol, I’m glad someone sees eye to eye with me on the Homebrew Browser.

    One issue that I had mentioned to teknecal was that it only allows downloading from one source, meaning that if his server goes down or anything like that we’d loose all functionality of the app.

    The iPhone dev scene has an application downloader that allows multiple sources and that’s what the Wii scene needs.

    A full fledged web browser is great but it may be a bit too much though, but hey if your up to the job, I say go for it.

  2. 2 Ibrahim January 26, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Hey,
    Well, it’s not going to be a full-fledged web browser, primarily just a downloader that can do basic html parsing. No css layout or anything like that. Although I guess something like apt-get would be pretty cool to have on the Wii, but I’m far from that skilled. I just figured this would be an interesting project to start out with.

  3. 3 Anonymous March 22, 2009 at 7:50 am

    How about Web Mii? Browse Mii? World Web Wii? Wii Browse? Wii Homebrowse? Come on, man. You can do better.

  4. 4 Ibrahim March 22, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Haha, I’ll work on getting it actually working, and then think about changing the name.

  5. 5 GTALionKing August 8, 2012 at 12:12 am

    Is this even still going on?


Comments are currently closed.




